ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Why is my PC having problems running AE CS6?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Conner OrrWhy is my PC having problems running AE CS6?
by on Aug 30, 2012 at 3:52:58 pm

I've worked with Sony Vegas for years and just recently purchased Adobe AE CS6 and I'm new to visual effects software so I have been going through basic tutorials but I am having problems running the software. It opens fine but it seems to freeze up and crash very easily. I run on a HP DV7 Notebook, 64 bit OS with 8gb RAM, i5 processor. I thought that this would be enough to run AE CS6 but I seem to have lots of lag and it likes to freeze when I import footage sometimes. I wanted to know if there's any way to optimize my software or computer so it will run smoother, especially if I want to start doing work with Element 3D. If anyone could tell me anything it would be greatly appreciated.

Return to posts index

Hemma KranskyRe: Why is my PC having problems running AE CS6?
by on Sep 1, 2012 at 12:25:21 am

Hi Conner,

My understanding of After Effects is that it is quite a beastly program. In good ways, and in bad ways when it comes to having insufficient computer power. Much more so than Vegas and Final Cut (where a I do all my first cuts). I have an apple i7 8GB and after effects deals with everything fine until I start using certain plugins like plexus. I recently upgraded to cs6 and tried out the 3D functions (extrusion etc). Not happy! It didn't crash but was ridiculously slow. If I really need 3D in After Effects then I will do all my animating, camera movements etc first and then very lastly tick the box and create extrusions etc.

I would suggest trying to play around with RAM preview settings (start at 1/4) and your resolution on the bottom bar (1/4 also). It makes it pixelated but maybe you can switch between the two.