ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

AE CS6 Two Sided Card Flip Problems

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt TrubacAE CS6 Two Sided Card Flip Problems
by on Aug 21, 2012 at 4:29:46 pm

Hello, I am fairly new to After Effects, but am having trouble with a technique I'm sure I used successfully in CS5.5. I am trying to create a two sided card flip effect. The cards all start out on the same side with a company logo showing. Each card rotates in sequence revealing AE generated text on the opposite side.

Here is how I created this:

In Photoshop CS6 I created a 500x500 px square to represent my card. I wanted the card to look like a coupon so I used a stroke layer style with a custom pattern to create a dash along the inside edge of my square.

I have read that PS layer styles do not work with AE 3D, so I flattened my layers in PS to rasterize the layer style and saved as a PSD.

I then imported the PSD in to AE choosing to merge layers.

My next step was to build my first card flip and then duplicate and update the text on each version.

I dropped my PS coupon square into my AE comp. Scaled it down slightly to fit. I then copy a layer from my logo comp (that I want to include on the front of the card) and paste it into my working comp. I scale and position the logo layer to fit, and then apply a mask to the logo layer to prevent any spill outside the boundaries of the square created in photoshop.

I activate 3D on both the photoshop square and my logo layer. I position the logo layer to -0.1 on the z axis to bring it in front of the card. The photoshop card stays at z=0.

Then with the AE text tool I create my text for the back of the card. I position it over the card. Activate 3D on the text layer and send the text to 0.1 on the z axis so that it is pushed behind the photoshop card.

Next I rotate my text layer to 180 degrees on the y axis so that it starts out backward.