ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

3D river of money

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tyler Black
3D river of money
on Aug 2, 2012 at 6:15:33 pm

Hi,

I would like to create a waterfall of dollar bills way off in the distance and have the dollars cascade down the rocks creating a river at the bottom that flows toward the camera and off-screen at the bottom of the frame. This seems like a pretty simple thing to do, but I'm fairly new to AE and can't find what I'm looking for in tutorials. I've looked for two days. Can anyone offer suggestions?

Thank you

Ty

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: 3D river of money
on Aug 2, 2012 at 8:14:35 pm

Depending on the how real you want this flow to be, this might be quite complicated, 3D cameras, position keyframes, simulated gravity, particle emmitters, displacement maps all might be involved in creating a money waterfall. That's actually quite a bit to do for an experienced animator and you say you are fairly new to the program.

I'd strongly suggest you start here, Getting started with After Effects (CS4, CS5, CS5.5, & CS6). Starting to learn AE with a finished project in mind is often a recipe for failure.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Tyler Black
on Aug 3, 2012 at 4:11:53 am

Johnny,