ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Particles falling over rigid object

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
João CunhaParticles falling over rigid object
by on Jul 5, 2012 at 8:22:50 am

Hi.

I'm quite new to AE and I'd like to know if there is any possibility to make particles fall over an object and bounce a bit on the impact? I don't have any other plugins so it would be nice to only use default AE effects.

Thank you.

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Particles falling over rigid object
by on Jul 5, 2012 at 12:57:22 pm

This can be accomplished using Particle Playground. Be warned though, PP is one of the toughest effects to master in AE. Generally I think most people spend the 200 bucks and buy Trapcodes Particular.

Particle Playground Help with links to tutorials

Made a very simple example project bouncing some particles off a floor: 4368_particleplayground.aep.zip

Good luck,

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

João CunhaRe: Particles falling over rigid object
by on Jul 6, 2012 at 1:50:26 pm

Is there any way to control the bounce amount?

Thank you for the help and for the sample project.

Return to posts index

by on Jul 6, 2012 at 4:46:25 pm

I played with PP some more and discovered a method for controlling the bounce. I created a precomp("Layer Map")placed a gradient on a solid to act as layer map and brought that into the final comp.

Under the Persistent Property Mapper -> Use Layer as Map "Layer Map".
Map Red to "Kinetic Friction"
Max .5