ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Create a 360º grunge background

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nuno Marques
Create a 360º grunge background
on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:01:01 am

Hi all.

I am rather stuck with this one. I know I can import files and use them as textures. I have been working this way for a bit now. But my background is always a bit static and limited. Don't want to run off the textured background :)

My question: is there any way to create a half-spherical "environment" in such a way that I am at the center of the sphere, standing on the floor, and everything around me (floor and sky) have a grunge look?

Return to posts index

Joseph W. Bourke
Re: Create a 360º grunge background
on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:57:42 pm

Hi Nuno -

This could be the best 99 dollars you ever spend! It does just as you describe, and quite a bit more:

http://www.redgiantsoftware.com/products/all/trapcode-horizon/

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media
http://www.bourkemedia.com

Return to posts index

Nuno Marques
on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:59:54 pm

As a student, I'm not very inclined to spend money on stuff. As an enthusiast who is willing to take this a bit beyond mere schooling, I think I'll take up your advice. That is, of course, if no one offers a "cheaper" solution :)

Thanks for the input. Always helpful.

Return to posts index

Joseph W. Bourke
on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:53:43 pm

Bear in mind that any investment in software that you make while you're a student will help you to earn more when you're not a student any longer.