ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How do I get my first job?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gabe Johnson
How do I get my first job?
on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:59:42 pm

Hello, I am wondering how I can get a job in digital media. I would rather work for a company since I have no real business experience and because I'm not really sure what it means to be a professional. I took AE classes at this crappy, overpriced place called Video Symphony and some more classes at a community college. Before that I was enlisted in the Navy for four years and before that I earned a BA in Film from CSU Long Beach where I learned little in the way of practical skills and a lot in terms of "critical thinking" and learning concepts and teminology related to the academic study of film. These included marxist film theory, semiotics and postmodernism. I also interned for a film producer answering phones, reading scripts and making errand runs for a couple major films. I've done a lot of tutorials and I shot, performed in, added effects and edited this video for one of my songs. Can anyone give me advice on what jobs I am qualified for? P.S. I need money, I'm staying at my moms but I can only be here temporarily.

Return to posts index

Gabe Johnson
Re: How do I get my first job?
on Jun 16, 2012 at 4:43:40 am

Thanks for all the help guys (sarcasm)

Return to posts index

niccolo ungaro
on Jun 16, 2012 at 9:08:42 pm

Hey Gabe... Never give up!
You are qualified for what you feel for and and not for anything else.
Work is work....

Try http://www.mandy.com/ & http://www.media-match.com

Return to posts index

niccolo ungaro
on Jun 16, 2012 at 9:10:58 pm

Ops I forgot :
http://jobs.creativecow.net/search.php

Return to posts index

Gabe Johnson
on Jun 16, 2012 at 9:51:17 pm