ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Anyone using a top of the line iMac for serious work?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Antony BuonomoAnyone using a top of the line iMac for serious work?
by on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:59:59 am

Hi

I guess everybody knows the mess Mac Pro is in at the moment and I was wondering if getting a completely specced-up iMac would tide me over until next year. I have a MP from 2008 - 3.2 dual core with 16 GB of RAM.

I use After Effects and Cinema 4D for HD rendering. I'm a motion graphics designer, usually dealing with sequences of no longer than 30 seconds.

If anybody has any pointers, it would be greatly appreciated.

(I'm posting this on to the C4D forum too, I hope that's ok)

A

Vertigo Productions

http://www.vertigo.co.uk

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Anyone using a top of the line iMac for serious work?
by on Jun 13, 2012 at 2:06:58 pm

The top-of-the-line 2011 iMac will trounce your 2008 Mac Pro.

Likewise, even a mid-grade 2012 PC workstation will trounce the top-of-the-line 2011 iMac.

I'm a long-time Mac guy, but I've started using PCs alongside my Macs and I couldn't be happier. See my recent thread Mac Pro Alternatives [link] from the FCPX or Not forum for some more conversation about cross-platform workflows.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index

Antony BuonomoRe: Anyone using a top of the line iMac for serious work?
by on Jun 13, 2012 at 2:22:59 pm