ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Fog behind objects!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Elliot Beach
Fog behind objects!
on May 30, 2012 at 11:12:01 pm

Hi there,

I am very new to Motion and have not really used it at all, only doing a small amount of stabilization and that's it. FCP and color I am more advanced if that helps. I am trying to create a fog effect in one of my shots and need it to appear behind some objects in the foreground [See images bellow].

So I want the fog to be just above the water covering out the buildings and behind the trumpeter, pier and lamppost. One image in the original and the other is just a fog clip pulled over to give a rough idea for you.

I'm sure its possible to do so can anyone give me a rough idea, name or tutorial that could help me with this. Thanks

(I am posting this in Motion forum as well to see which program would work the best)

- Original

- Fog screen pulled over

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Re: Fog behind objects!
on May 31, 2012 at 12:08:47 pm

Not knowing if there is a camera move or not, here's what I suggest:
Roto the part that is in front.
Create a Camera Projection (if not familiar do a google search on the subject- you'll get plenty of good tutorials) for the background ( water, sky and buildings). This will give you a nice 3d space to put some 3d particles simulating fog (Particular should do the job) or several 2d layers of fog for a more realistic look.
If you just drop in a single fog layer you will not get the look of things disappearing in the fog as they are farther from the camera. Even if you are going for a heavy thick fog, it would still be nice to see the outline of the buildings that are closer fading in.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Elliot Beach
on May 31, 2012 at 8:01:47 pm

-see below-

Return to posts index

Mato Kokotic
on May 31, 2012 at 4:33:08 pm