ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

CS6 Requirements: Video Card and Hard Drive Speed?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joesph ArmstrongCS6 Requirements: Video Card and Hard Drive Speed?
by on Apr 29, 2012 at 1:12:27 am

To the Admin: If this is posted in the wrong section please move it to the appropriate one. Please don't delete!

I am a freelance editor and film student who is looking into purchasing the new student edition of CS6 Production Premium (whenever it is released).
However, first I want to make sure my system will allow me to run the new creative suite. I checked the tech spec. requirements for CS6 Production Premium on the Adobe website and I meet all the specs with the exception of not having...

- a 7200 RPM hard drive (Mine is 5400 RPM, Model: Hitachi HTS545050B9A302)
- any of the listed Nvidia graphics cards on the adobe spec. page.

I do have an AMD Radeon HD 6490M but it is not listed among the AMD cards that are supported.

My question is: Despite not having these two things will CS6 still be usable?

I would mainly be using After Effects, Photoshop, and Premiere. I don't do much in the way of time-sensitive tasks but if there are any recommendations for increasing speed I would appreciate it.

I would be running the suite on my 2Ghz Intel Core i7 Macbook Pro with 4GB of memory. I currently have OSX Snow-Leopard 10.6.8 installed but I have a free OSX Lion download from Apple that I have been holding off on installing.
The reason my Mac didn't ship with the standard 7200 RPM Hard Drive and AMD Radeon HD 6750M/6770M Card was because it was bought from Apple's refurbished store.

If you could provide me with any other advice on products you recommend upgrade my system with I would appreciate it.

- Joe A.

- Macbook Pro Intel Core i7, 2 Ghz with 4GB ram, Snow-Leopard 10.6.8
- Power Mac G5, 1.8 GHz with 3GB ram running Leopard