ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

2K Aspect Ratios (Dumb Question)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John Michaels2K Aspect Ratios (Dumb Question)
by on Apr 24, 2012 at 12:47:24 am

I'm doing title animations for a friend who shot on a RED. They told me they're doing 2K with a 1.85 aspect ratio. I've never worked with 2K before so this is a bit new.

In After Effects, I created a Comp using the 2K dimensions, which After Effects has at 2048x1556. I made a matte for 1.85, making the "visible" area to be 2048x1107.

However, I don't think I have something right, because they sent me a rough cut in 1080p DNxHD, and the aspect ratio there seems to be much wider.

So when I rendered a 1080p version of my title (cropping off the top and bottom) and cut it in with their rough cut, my letterboxing didn't match until I dropped a 1.85 Avid matte filter on to my title sequence, and THAT made it match the rest of their footage.

So am I doing something wrong? Using the wrong dimensions somewhere along the way?

Return to posts index

Andrew SomersRe: 2K Aspect Ratios (Dumb Question)
by on Apr 24, 2012 at 2:59:38 am

First off, you should ask them for a "Frame and focus" chart - this will be a single frame at the full scanned (or debayered) resolution, that shows where exactly the frame edge should be.

A frame/focus chart is very important in a film workflow, but also very useful in a digital workflow, to make sure everyone is on the same page.

THAT SAID:

The 2048x1556 preset in AE is based on a full aperture 35mm film scan. This is not the preset you'd usually be using for just RED material.