ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

In using AE, is it best to copy footage onto internal hard drive?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Vic Noseworthy
In using AE, is it best to copy footage onto internal hard drive?
on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:08:05 pm

Hi folks,
I'm brand new to AE, so please forgive my ignorance. This may be a simple/dumb question:
I understand that AE only references media files (as opposed to importing the file into AE) so as to keep AE files smaller. Fair enough.
However, since I'm using FCE4, and the footage is stored on its own external media hard drive, should I copy the specific footage file(s) I'm using for AE projects onto my computer's main hard drive? Or, can I simply reference the files from the external drive (so that AE would reference the files the same way that FCE4 does)?
Thanks very much.
Vic

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Re: In using AE, is it best to copy footage onto internal hard drive?
on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:48:20 pm

Use the drive that will provide the fastest data transfer, so if the external is faster than your internal drive, then is better to use that, if not, copy all you use on your local drive.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Brian Charles
on Apr 15, 2012 at 12:02:08 am

Todd Kopriva has produced a series of free video tutorials on optimizing performance for After Effects.

Here is on on Hard Disks.

http://www.video2brain.com/en/videos-5353.htm

Return to posts index

Vic Noseworthy
on Apr 15, 2012 at 5:17:03 pm