ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Animating text within an object using a mask?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael JonesAnimating text within an object using a mask?
by on Mar 4, 2012 at 7:47:17 pm

I'm relatively new to AE but I thought I had the concept of masks down pat but I can't accomplish something that I imagine is rather simple. I have the following objects in my composition: I want to key some text within the GREY triangular object in the foreground, and have it float right to left, but I want the boundaries of the triangle to define the boundaries of the text. So, in other words, if the text is within the grey triangle, moving from right to left, the text would get cut off and eventually disappear as it meets the edge of the triangle that touches the stripes background. I tried using the Pen tool and creating a mask around the triangle, but when I re-position the text, the entire mask moves. I want the text to move WITHIN the mask. Am I going about it the wrong way? Do I need to create an alpha within the grey triangle?

Return to posts index

Brian CharlesRe: Animating text within an object using a mask?
by on Mar 4, 2012 at 8:42:22 pm

A track matte would be a better approach.

Return to posts index

Michael JonesRe: Animating text within an object using a mask?
by on Mar 4, 2012 at 9:12:56 pm