ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

8bit Banding

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jon Merrifield
8bit Banding
on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:01:19 am

This isn't really and AE only thing but since Dave LaRonde is here and AE is my main tool. I thought I would post it here.

I was a Quantel Artist for for 17 years. Back in the that day, we never really had to worry about banding because Quantel had a process, still in their systems, called "Dynamic Rounding". (patented) This solved most of the issues inherent in the banding generated when you had a gradation from light to dark or large soft edges, what have you.

Currently our external monitors are FSI 2450s (8bit because TV is 8bit, just saying). Often there are banding issues, I try and solve these with color corrections, add some noise etc.

Are there any software solutions that aid in correcting banding of this type besides my techniques listed.

thank you,
-Jon

From Quantel's web site:

Dynamic Rounding is a clever technique devised by Quantel for truncating the word length of pixels – a process you can't avoid when you are processing images. Rather than simply losing the lower bits, Dynamic Rounding uses their information to control, via a randomiser, the dither of the LSB of the truncated result. This effectively removes any artefacts that would otherwise be visible. Dynamic rounding is non-cumulative on any number of passes and produces statistically correct results. Dynamic rounding eliminates any truncation artefacts leaving you great looking pictures whatever the bit depth, whatever the processing. Dynamic Rounding is patented technology that you simply can't get anywhere else.

Jon Merrifield
VFX Artist / Supervisor
PELi Studios, Austin TX

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: 8bit Banding
on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:14:10 pm

Here's another approach to get at banding from Roland Kahlenberg: