ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

New Mac, New HD camera...Long long time to edit in after effects :(

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Greg BossonNew Mac, New HD camera...Long long time to edit in after effects :(
by on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:30:42 pm

Hello all! This is my first time posting here and i am pretty new to the whole video editing thing so apologies when my questions inevitably seem silly/obvious, please bare with me :).

Basically i have shot a lot of footage with a Sony Nex VG20 at 1080p 50fps, taken the .mts files off the camera onto my iMac and tried to edit in AE. I havnt compressed or converted the .mts' as i thought my mac could handle it... silly me. My specs are 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 gig memory, AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB. I mean AE can play it smoothly enough initially, but when i add any effect or try and alter it in any way, a short clip can take ages to preview. I know i should use a lossless codec or something but I have no idea which one, and to be quite honest even how to implement this.

Oh before i forget, i actually did convert some of the .mts' to other file types but in each case the quality was either nowhere near as good or the file size was actually bigger than the original somehow. Quality is a top priority for me.

Is there any way to edit a lower quality version of the footage, then export a finished higher quality one?
Am i just going to have to plow on with editing the .mts and be patient?

I have done some research on transcoding, converting, codecs, proxy's but by the end my head was just spinning. Sorry i know this must be very tedious to some of you more experienced folk, but hey, we all have to start somewhere!

Thanks in advance!
Greg

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: New Mac, New HD camera...Long long time to edit in after effects :(
by on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:36:23 pm