ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Does After Effects (CS4) have a specific "bit depth" and "color sampling"?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Vic NoseworthyDoes After Effects (CS4) have a specific "bit depth" and "color sampling"?
by on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:53:00 pm

Hi Folks,
I've never used After Effects before, and am wondering about how it works with an NLE. Specifically, if I shoot in a particular quality/format, cut together in an NLE, then export to do composite editing in AE, will AE somehow transcode the original video such that I may lose quality/resolution/bit depth? What's the deal? Does After Effects have quality limitations in terms of the bit depth, resolution, and color sampling it can handle?
Thanks very much!
Vic

Return to posts index

Spencer TweedRe: Does After Effects (CS4) have a specific "bit depth" and "color sampling"?
by on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:31:33 pm

Hey Vic, Short answer is no. After Effects only references your files, so when you are working on them nothing will be lost. That said there are a few things that can effect your final output... Natively the only thing that will effect your quality is the bit depth - After Effects is by default set to 8 bits per channel, but it is VERY easy to change this in your project (though a few effects will cap your footage at 8bpc). From there you could compress your file in your render settings, but by default this shouldn't happen.

- Spncer

Return to posts index

Vic NoseworthyRe: Does After Effects (CS4) have a specific "bit depth" and "color sampling"?
by on Feb 17, 2012 at 2:28:34 am

Thanks very much, Spencer. So, is 8-bits per channel considered high end? In other words, if I create something in AE (CS4) and output on DVD, will it hold up on, say, a 60-inch HD TV?
(Or, is the "bottleneck" in some other area of the workflow... say, in my NLE capabilities?
Thanks again.
Vic

Return to posts index