ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Photoshop to After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Neal BarkleyPhotoshop to After Effects
by on Feb 15, 2012 at 3:45:02 pm

Hi Guys,

I am hoping someone can help me. I am trying to create a simple title of white text in photoshop that i can bring in to After Effects and then animate on a black background.

Unfortunately the background is slightly 2 tone so i need to have the white text on a transparent back ground.

I have spent hours researching it and there seem to be so many conflicting views of whether i need to use an alpha channel or not.

I have also spent a while trying different ways of saving the file in photoshop but i cant get it to work.

I am very new to After Effects so any instructions as if explaining to a not too bright child would be so appreciated!

Thank you in advance and please help!

Return to posts index

Richard WindsorRe: Photoshop to After Effects
by on Feb 15, 2012 at 4:02:26 pm

All you need to do is get rid of your background layer in Photoshop. If your text is on a different layer then you should have a layer called background that is just all white. Just delete that layer, and when you import the PSD into After Effects there will be no background white, just your text. Hope that helps!

Return to posts index

Neal BarkleyRe: Photoshop to After Effects
by on Feb 15, 2012 at 4:10:15 pm

Hi Richard,

Many thanks for your message. I did try that but for some reason when i import it in to After effects all i get is a solid white box the dimensions of the layer in photoshop that contains the text.

Do you know where i am going wrong?

Return to posts index

Richard WindsorRe: Photoshop to After Effects
by on Feb 15, 2012 at 4:19:32 pm