ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

AE video compression?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
paolo zunigaAE video compression?
by on Feb 6, 2012 at 8:42:41 pm

I've finished a composition in AE and I'm now ready to export. This is my first time using AE. I mostly use Final Cut for edits and export my videos in HD to best quality in either ProRes or H264 for web streaming (Vimeo).

To those with much more experience using this program, any suggestions on the best high res codec to use for exporting a high quality video for online streaming purposes?

thanks!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: AE video compression?
by on Feb 6, 2012 at 10:34:34 pm

If you're going back to FCP, the choice is obvious: ProRes 422.

ProRes HQ or ProRes 4444 is overkill. The only thing you gain from either is a bigger file size. Now, you might like larger files sizes, in which case I say, go for it!

As for myself, I'd prefer not to waste good storage on unnecessarily large files.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

paolo zunigaRe: AE video compression?
by on Feb 6, 2012 at 11:06:05 pm

I wasn't planning on returning to Final Cut after the AE export. I just exported the 2 minute video from AE using h264 and was hoping it would look as good as it did in the composition. But when I watch the video in Quicktime after export it looks very pixelated.

Should I considered going back to FC and doing the final export from there? Is that overkill?

thanks

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: AE video compression?
by on Feb 7, 2012 at 7:45:21 am

You can do that, but I would use Adobe Media Encoder to open the AE project, select your comp and render compressed from there. A 2 pass VBR will give you a much better H264 compression.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

by on Feb 7, 2012 at 5:44:09 pm