ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Need assistance with selective coloring/"leave color" technique

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Thomas Handley
Need assistance with selective coloring/"leave color" technique
on Feb 3, 2012 at 9:56:23 pm

See reference video (short: 20 seconds):

Right, I'm really quite new to the Adobe After Effects scene. I've been tasked with producing a time-lapse video in black and white with yellow selective colouration. Usually this would not be a problem, except in the above scene and a few others the things I want to keep yellow are interacting heavily with other objects (people and traffic). I have 2 problems:

1) Is there a way to selectively color the road crossing lines without it affecting foreground objects? The only way I can think of is using masks in every single frame to block out the things that aren't meant to be colored. Obviously this is far too time consuming to be viable.

2) Changes in lighting (clouds passing over) are wreaking havoc with the 'Leave color' threshold, as you can see some lines changing between grey and yellow depending on the lighting. The current solution I'm thinking of is varying the threshold as the lighting changes in order to keep it as consistent as possible.

Are there any quicker/easier solutions to the problems I'm having?

Many thanks in advance

-Tom (GruntGuy)

Return to posts index

Paul Roper
Re: Need assistance with selective coloring/"leave color" technique
on Feb 3, 2012 at 11:09:42 pm

You could give the Color Stabilizer effect a try - it is designed to even out colour changes on footage such as time lapse. It should help with the lighting changes.