ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

After effects 3 error file type avi not supported.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Adams MichaelAfter effects 3 error file type avi not supported.
by on Jan 27, 2012 at 10:16:34 pm

This is just bizarre. I created a project last night and AE was perfectly cool with avi's. I changed nothing that I am aware of. Could it be a codec issue? if so, where do i start? I even reinstalled the program hoping something would default back to what it was. Sucks that hours of work are undone. fortunately didnt lose anything, just the actual edits, transitions, etc.. HELP, please? Im not a complete newbie but this one is beyond my level. thanks to anyone who can help.

Return to posts index

Adams MichaelRe: After effects 3 error file type avi not supported.
by on Jan 27, 2012 at 10:27:42 pm

Okay, guess Im going to answer my own question. I downloaded the directshow mpeg4 codec and it fixed the problem. totally a fluke that i tried that but it miraculously worked! in case someone else has this problem, mibht be worth knowing about!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: After effects 3 error file type avi not supported.
by on Jan 30, 2012 at 4:45:14 pm

I think I know the answer but let's just confirm this. You write, "After effects 3". I bet you actually intended to write CS3. There actually was an AE Version 3 (okay, 3.1), it's now way old far less capable. Yes, it's confusing.

But but AE 3.1 still would have the problem with footage you'll potentially have because you're on CS3. I'm glad you don't (at least not yet), but if you ask me, it's just a matter of time. Here's what I mean:

Dave's Stock Answer #1:

If the footage you imported into AE is any kind of the following -- footage in an HDV acquisition codec, MPEG1, MPEG2, AVCHD, mp4, mts, m2t, H.261 or H.264 -- you need to convert it to a different codec.