ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

3.0 Aspect Ratio project

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Derick Joe
3.0 Aspect Ratio project
on Jan 25, 2012 at 5:29:28 pm

I'm looking for some insight on how to create a 3.0 aspect ratio project in After Effects. I'm having to create a motion graphic video for my company which is to be displayed at an event. The event production team has asked me to create my video in a 3.0 aspect ratio so that it fills their screens. I've never done this before and After Effects doesn't seem to have a 3.0 aspect ratio setting. The closest that can get is Anamorphic 2.0 aspect ratio. So my thinking is that I will setup an HD 1920x1080 24fps composition, create my video in it, then create a custom composition with a 3.0 aspect ratio which comes out to be 1920x1282. When I set my dimensions to this, AE tells me my frame aspect ratio is 3.0. I then bring in my Anamorphic comp into the new 3.0 aspect ratio comp and resize it. Is this correct? I appreciate any insight.

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: 3.0 Aspect Ratio project
on Jan 25, 2012 at 5:37:28 pm

You need to call the event-producers for more detailed specs, aspect ratio, resolution and deliverable. They know what they need, they probably have a form email they can send you with everything you need to know.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
on Jan 25, 2012 at 5:51:24 pm

And, once you get the specs from them, just make your AE comp the size you need. No need to nest comps just to get the right aspect ratio (unless you have assets you've already built).

- The Great Szalam