ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

whats with the speed of after effects?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mark Samuelswhats with the speed of after effects?
by on Jan 3, 2012 at 8:03:42 am

Hi, Im relatively new to after effects however I have read through and watched quite a few tutorials just so that I have a basic understanding. The problem is as many people complain about - the speed. I have been working with two layers, one video and one still image. My composition is 15 seconds. I have one effect on the still image. Thats it, nothing complex in any way, yet when I play it back, its all jumpy and really slow and starts and stops etc. I have changed the skip and resolution settings to try and make it a bit better but its still painfully slow.
Is this normal? If so I don't understand how does anyone actually get anything done at all. If I have to wait this long for one pissy little clip how the hell do I ever do an entire music video , ad, or film??? It doesn't make sense. Surely people need to be able to see what they are doing as they work on it?? What am I doing wrong because Im close to giving up as its getting really boring. Thanks.

Return to posts index

Tero AhlforsRe: whats with the speed of after effects?
by on Jan 3, 2012 at 8:34:47 am

This little quote has been in a bunch of threads in here and it'll explain how compositing softwares work.

"Sony Vegas, Premiere Pro, Final Cut, Avid are all NLE's (Non Linear Editors) and they are specifically designed to playback a video stream. With any of them, if you stack enough layers or effects on the video they will have to render a new video stream based on pixel based calculations for every pixel in the stack. This rendering, especially for HD sources or for complex plug-ins, will take quite a bit of time.