ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to import Avid DNxHD .mxf files into After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joseph HermanHow to import Avid DNxHD .mxf files into After Effects
by on Jan 3, 2012 at 6:29:10 am

Hello,

I have some DNxHD files with a .mxf extension on them which I would like to bring into After Effects.

I've never done this before. I also notice that the audio left and right are separate channels. But I don't even care about the audio, I just want to bring in the video.

How would you do this?

Thanks for your help!

Return to posts index

Steve BlackerRe: How to import Avid DNxHD .mxf files into After Effects
by on Jan 3, 2012 at 1:30:32 pm

Might be a daft question, but have you installed the DNxHD codecs for Quicktime? Might be a start if you're having trouble importing these files to AE.

http://www.stephenblacker.com

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: How to import Avid DNxHD .mxf files into After Effects
by on Jan 3, 2012 at 5:03:34 pm

ae does support mxf import/export, but only for a several codecs (which are pretty much acquisition/camera codecs), and i don't believe dnxhd is included, but you could check the online manual for your version of ae for specifics.

you can definitely convert the mxf to an mov container and keep the same codec (dnxhd) if you have the avid quicktime components installed the steve mentions (they are a free download from avid). and you could export that from your avid.

Kevin Camp
Senior Designer
KCPQ, KMYQ & KRCW

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: How to import Avid DNxHD .mxf files into After Effects
by on Jan 3, 2012 at 5:20:19 pm

[Kevin Camp] "ae does support mxf import/export, but only for a several codecs (which are pretty much acquisition/camera codecs), and i don't believe dnxhd is included, but you could check the online manual for your version of ae for specifics."