ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Please Make Me Feel Stupid

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sam AndrewsPlease Make Me Feel Stupid
by on Dec 18, 2011 at 10:11:55 pm

Hi There,
I'm somewhat new to After Effects and am looking to your godly expertise for guidance. I have a problem that seems like it should be easily accomplished, something that will make me smack my heading, thinking, "Of COURSE! How could I have been so stupid?!"

The basic question is this: Can you keyframe an entire effect/preset?

For some more information, here's what's happening. I have a title sequence that I like, with things zipping around in 3D space. At the end, the camera settles in on the final title and holds. So far so good. I have a third-party plugin that creates the look of old-timey footage from a hundred years ago. I precomped the original sequence and applied the preset to the result. It basically applies a schwack of effects to the composition, with noise, wiggle, color correction, etc. But here's the problem. Once the camera settles in, I'd like to fade it all off, leaving a nice crisp, clean title. I guess I could go through and keyframe each and every effect individually, but surely Adobe (or one of you geniuses) has a way to fade an entire preset out in a much more efficient manner.

Thanks so much for all your help. And thanks so much for this helpful forum in the first place,; you've all been a great help already and you don't even know it!

-- Sam

Return to posts index

Brian CharlesRe: Please Make Me Feel Stupid
by on Dec 18, 2011 at 10:47:38 pm

Add an adjustment layer above all layers you want to have the effect.

Apply the preset to the adjustment layer.

To fade, keyframe opacity of adjustment layer.

Return to posts index

Sam AndrewsRe: Please Make Me Feel Stupid
by on Dec 19, 2011 at 12:13:16 am

Hi Brian,
Thanks so much for your quick help, I appreciate it.