ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

What if there will be no new mac pro...

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Doug LyonsWhat if there will be no new mac pro...
by on Nov 14, 2011 at 1:22:03 am

I've been waiting for a year and a half to buy a new mac pro. I'm an editor and motion graphics designer working with fairly processor intensive software - After effects especially. All my work is HD - usually uncompressed - and I've wanted to upgrade my home office to match the firepower of work for a few years now, but it looks like I might have to settle for an iMac or an older Mac Pro.
I dread having to go windows. Plus I would have to purchase several thousands of dollars of software.
I wonder what other editor/designers are considering. Just looking for something to think about while we wait for Apple to make up its mind.

Return to posts index

Scott RobertsRe: What if there will be no new mac pro...
by on Nov 14, 2011 at 2:23:02 am

You'll be fine even if you're not using a Mac. Just get a 64-bit OS (Windows 7) or an iMac - and be sure to load them up with a ton of RAM, extra hard drives (USB 3, eSata, RAID) and you'll be good. I edit on Mac and PC and I do music videos, corporate product videos, etc. Andrew Kramer (VideoCopilot) is PC based. And, look at all of the high-end machines from BOXX Tech - all PC based.

LittleBlackBird.net

GraphicsDump.com

Return to posts index

Sam SmithRe: What if there will be no new mac pro...
by on Nov 14, 2011 at 3:10:26 am

The current iMacs loaded with ram are pretty zippy.

I would hate to have to go to PC too. :(

Return to posts index

Brian CharlesRe: What if there will be no new mac pro...
by on Nov 14, 2011 at 3:38:56 am

There has been much speculation of late regarding Apple's plans for the MacPro.

Its may be fun to speculate but in fact its a fruitless (no pun intended) exercise since Apple never discloses its plans.