ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

All mixed up about graphics cards

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Max PalmerAll mixed up about graphics cards
by on Nov 3, 2011 at 4:19:07 pm

Yes, I know... who needs another graphics card thread? But I guess I'm just not sure what I should be searching for.

I'm pretty new to motion graphics and video in general, so I'm not sure what features I need or what kind of card I should really be looking at. I want the best card I can buy, or at least a significant upgrade for the work I do without wasting money on cards I don't need or won't utilize.

Right now, I have a bone stock Mac Pro 2.26 8 core, 8GB of ram and the ATI GT 120. I plan on upgrading the ram significantly, so that will be done in conjunction with the GPU upgrade. My work involves mostly after effects and premiere. In AE, I don't use any third party plugins yet, so my effects are pretty much limited to glows, shadows, lighting, and blurs, used often in AfterEffects' "3D" environment. I would like something that would speed up these processes for me.

What kind of features should I be looking at?

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: All mixed up about graphics cards
by on Nov 3, 2011 at 4:49:29 pm

AE renders on the CPU, not the GPU. You don't need a fast graphics card, unless you intend to use GPU-accelerated effects.

You do need a lot of RAM -- aim for 2 to 4 GB per core.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index

Max PalmerRe: All mixed up about graphics cards
by on Nov 3, 2011 at 5:06:21 pm