ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

AE freelance job question

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Hans van LuttikhuizenAE freelance job question
by on Nov 3, 2011 at 11:44:52 am

Recently I've been working on this project. I'm fairly happy about how it turned out considering I didn't have that much time to work on it. Now I'm wondering, since I'm very new to this field of work (both to AE and freelancing in general) what such a thing is worth. Just to explain:
  • This project will be used in nearly every single video they will upload from now on
  • The five stars will range from 0,5 - 5 points with or without the "kooptip" banner.
  • Every single option within a different composition to ensure ease of use when importing to Premiere Pro (just pick the comp with the score you need)
  • I will be writing a document with a step-by-step guide on how to use this file with Premiere Pro
  • I will be supporting and updating if and where necessary

Now my question is: Can you give me an estimate of what kind of money I could ask for this project, regardless of my time spent on it.

Also, if you have feedback on the project itself, an effect you like or don't, something that might make it a LOT better with just a little adjustment, let me know! I'm new to this and although I think I'm doing pretty okay, there's still a lot of room for improvement.

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: AE freelance job question
by on Nov 3, 2011 at 8:52:37 pm

[Hans van Luttikhuizen] "Now my question is: Can you give me an estimate of what kind of money I could ask for this project, regardless of my time spent on it."

In general, freelancers charge for their time. Sometimes, I will bill for time; sometimes, I will bill a project fee based on a fixed scope of work.