ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to use/convert HD footage?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Aaron BearHow to use/convert HD footage?
by on Nov 1, 2011 at 10:21:13 pm

I have been trying to figure this out for some time now but dont get very good results.

I have a Canon Vixia HFR10 HD camcorder and have it set to record at the highest settings; 1920x1080 at 60i. On the raw and converted clips, the interlacing is very apparent and the image is not very clear. When I offload the raw video clips, they are in a .mts file format. My version of AE and Premiere dont seem to accept that format so the only way Ive been able to work with it is to convert it using Total Video Converter. Currently Im converting them to .mov with h264 encoding, or exporting them to a jpg/png/etc image sequence.

I dont have much experience dealing with HD footage so Im a bit of a newbie when it comes to converting and such.

How should I handle a .mts video clip that is 1920x1080 and 60i?

I do a lot of vfx and editing so the better the picture quality, the better. Especially with interlacing, tracking footage with apparent interlacing gives me messy results.

Should I deinterlace the video and reduce the video scale by half?

Im a bit lost so if anyone can answer my question, itd be greatly appreciated! :)

-Aaron-
"Wherever you go, there you are"

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: How to use/convert HD footage?
by on Nov 2, 2011 at 10:01:04 am

h264 is a delivery codec for playback, not really the best choice if you want to do post work on your footage. Any uncompressed format will do better, although you should expect large files.
Always de-interlace footage, or shoot 30p (29.97)

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Aaron BearRe: How to use/convert HD footage?
by on Nov 2, 2011 at 10:06:09 pm