ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Mastering the camera

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
andrew donaldsonMastering the camera
by on Oct 25, 2011 at 4:02:38 pm

Hey guys.

Something that I have been meaning to ask for a while is do you know of any tips or pointers on how to really master animating AE's camera?

Im not a newbie, i understand keyframing and easy easing (etc), i understand when to use linear and bezier points, etc. But i always find myself struggling to get my camera animations super smooth. And I often find myself using a workaround and avoiding the moves that i want with alternative shots.

Again, its not a RTFM question, i want to know if you guys can always master the move you want to do and what your secret is!
Any links to tutorials or similar welcome...

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Mastering the camera
by on Oct 25, 2011 at 4:51:43 pm

Check out the VideoCopilot tutorials on SureTarget. It's a free plugin they developed that moves between different targets/locations. Really handy and they have some good tuts on it's usage.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: Mastering the camera
by on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:40:27 pm

Another great resource is the camera rig tutorial you can find at the link below. This (or a slightly more complex version) is what I use to animate my cameras and I am very happy with it:

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

ben g ungurenRe: Mastering the camera
by on Oct 25, 2011 at 8:04:09 pm

I like video copilot's stuff, but I recommend understanding rigging for a camera, and come up with something that works well for you....

Ben Unguren
Motion Graphics & Editing

Return to posts index

Brian CharlesRe: Mastering the camera
by on Oct 25, 2011 at 11:57:46 pm

Ben is right, there are 3 tutorials here on the Cow by Andrew Devis that can help:

Return to posts index