ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Sweeping colour band?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Olly Lawer
Sweeping colour band?
on Oct 8, 2011 at 2:43:41 pm

Hi,

I'm looking for some nice very polished effects for a wedding DVD I am producing (my first). I would like to have four small blocks, surrounded by black and with black separating them (i.e. the background, absence of a clip). The clips will all be black and white. I'm good so far.

Then, rather ambitiously, I would like to create a sweep of colour that makes its way from the bottom left to the top right. The sweep will be narrow and diffuse, turning the image to colour as it sweeps and leaving the image black and white in it's wake.

This is possible and how hard is it to do? I am a novice at After Effects but quick to learn.

Please free to throw in any ideas for other shots which might also look good.

Thanks

Olly Lawer

Return to posts index

ben g unguren
Re: Sweeping colour band?
on Oct 8, 2011 at 3:03:35 pm

I'd use a masked adjustment layer. The basic steps:

Create a solid that is a bit larger than your comp (or scale it up a bit, whatever works for you). Apply a mask that covers the edges of your new layer. Feather the edges of the mask, then reduce the mask expansion value until you have a nice, fuzzy edge to your solid (you'll have to reposition the solid to see these fuzzy edges, which is fine).

Then turn it into an adjustment layer by clicking the half-circle switch for the layer (near the motion-blur switch, the 3D switch, etc). The layer becomes invisible -- now whatever layers find themselves underneath the adjustment layer will receive whatever effects you are applying to the adjustment layer.