ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

AE expressions - random numbers?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Runolfur GudbjornssonAE expressions - random numbers?
by on Oct 4, 2011 at 4:26:01 pm

Hi guy´s,

first of all, I am a total noob when it comes to expressions and coding all together but from what I can reed is that I need it to get this to work. And as with many things my ambition is way ahead of my current skills.

Here is the thing, I have made a motion timelapse of windmills which is shot over 12 hours. Now the whole film pans from left to right (sunset to sunrise) going from one windmill to the other, 6 in all. I want to animate a text with some technical readout, like windspeed, the windmills output in watts and some technical mombo jombo like Hz and Volt. All to make it more technical in its expression. The txt is then motion tracked to each windmill so it will follow it throughout the pan and also I have transformed it in 3D so it kinda is aligned to each windmill based on its position in the frame.

right now i have txt like:

wind: 08m/s
output: 650kw
data: 40Hz 660v

But i want the numbers to toggle quite fast, like have windspeed info to toggle between 08 and 13 m/s, so it looks like a constant live readout from some datarecording, and have the Kw readout to do the same and so on... so everything is constantly toggeling within a given value. I have tried different methods but no luck... if i highlight like say 08 in "wind" and ask for random(minValOrArray,maxValOrArray) and put in 08, 13, I then can se the value change in my inspector but the highlighted field in my viewer is now empty.

can anybody give my a recipe for how to easally make this possible..
keep in min that I am new to this so please keep the technical gibberish as simple as possible

here is a screen dump of what i am fighting.

Return to posts index