ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Aspiring video editor

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrew MarascoAspiring video editor
by on Sep 23, 2011 at 4:04:13 am

Hi I am currently a college sophomore at a local community college in california with a few questions. I have a love and passion for film and film editing and wanna get into the professional world.

I currently own no professional video editing software. I was lucky enough to go to a school where Final Cut Pro was an option for us to use in high school. My community college does not have comparable equipment or classes worth my time for film. With all the recent criticism towards Apple and Final Cut Pro X, I am lost as to where to start. Should I buy Final Cut? Should I look at Adobe CS5 Production Premium suite? Or should I try and get Avid Media Composer? I am currently working off of a 2010 Macbook Pro.

I am also wondering about my next step of education. I have plans to transfer out of my community college in Northern California and move down to the Los Angeles area. Unfortunately, finances are a big issue for me when looking at schools. I have heard good things about CSU Long Beach. I didn't know if anybody had any suggestions of schools to look at?

Return to posts index

malcolm DeSotoRe: Aspiring video editor
by on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:17:19 am

depends on what you want to edit and what your budget is.

Don't get FCP. It's one of the least intuitive apps I've ever used and Apple is phasing it out anyway.

Premiere Pro is great if you're used to working in After Effects or work a lot with any of the Adobe products, really. Can't beat the price, especially if you're a student and can use the student discount.

Avid is, by far, the most intuitive and well organized editing application for...editing. Editing a feature? I'd go Avid. Editing commercials? I'd probably go Premiere Pro.