ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Can't compress enough!!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tabby KirbyCan't compress enough!!
by on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:48:21 am

Ok, So yes, this is my first time using after effects, but i really need some help.
I made a simple 5 minute count down with a background that I made in photoshop and the first time i rendered it, it was 44GB. So after about an hour of reading i found out I needed to compress it, once i figured out how to do that I used Sorenson3, simply because I had seen it said that it was a good compressor and got it down to 11GB. This weekend I talked to a friend who has been working with this stuff a couple of more months than I have and he said to use H.264, when I did that It only brought it down to 7.46GB.
SO I have no clue what else to use or if there is another setting on the video that I have yet to set right, if I could get some help that would be awesome I have been waiting for this to be done for over a week now, thanks,
Tabby

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: Can't compress enough!!
by on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:26:40 am

It always helps when you give a bit more information in your post- like what version of AE, what are the specs on your system, what format are you working in (frame size, rate, color space).
For compression AE is not the best tool. You can run your rendered piece through Adobe Media Encoder or you can render your comp directly from Encoder. For more advice I would need to know also how you want to use the final piece- will it be introduced in a cut together with other material, will you post it on YouTube/web, DVD playback, BlueRay...? There are presets for almost all your needs in Encoder.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Tabby KirbyRe: Can't compress enough!!
by on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:34:46 am