ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Rotoscoping Trouble?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Low Chuen LeikRotoscoping Trouble?
by on Jul 13, 2011 at 11:50:19 am

Hello all. I'm fairly new to after effects, so pls forgive me if I make myself look like an idiot. I recently found out about Rotoscoping. It has made all my short flicks much easier to make, so thank god for that pice of genius.

But there's a hitch- in fact, TWO hitches. First off, after a few frames, the pink outline seems to reset itself and cover the entire screen. But if I just draw a short green line and proceed, all is well. This makes the entire process tiresome, extending the time to about 1 hour for about a minute. I'm doing this on a solid color screen just to test it out ( i know i can just key it out ). I don't know whether this will prove to be of importance or not, but it always has the frame rate mismatch error. If I set the comp to 59.94 fps like it suggests, the video becomes all shaky.

Secondly, I've seen people transform videos into these animations like hand-drawn lines to form a cartoon of sorts. How do they achieve this? I've watched tutorials on Rotoscoping and have not seen anything mentioning this feature.

Please help me out here, and any answers will be appreciated.

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Rotoscoping Trouble?
by on Jul 13, 2011 at 3:05:30 pm

(This post has lots of links that may - or may not - show up in your email, please read it on the COW.)

There's a lot to rotoscoping besides the Roto Brush (which it sounds like what you're using). Other than using the Roto Brush the fast way to rotoscope is to do so EFFICIENTLY by "keeping your points to the joints."

In-Depth Tips on Rotoscoping from Jeff Kaplan at Point 360 WEST: