ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Too BIG

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Isabelle LindauerToo BIG
by on Jul 12, 2011 at 6:16:54 pm

HI

I'm a newbie in After Effects.
I made a big clip, 60 sec. it's 2 G. Normally I do 20 sec. and it's about 500 M to 800 M.
When I want to view it in QuickTime Pro it's too big to work, I need to work on QuickTime Pro because it has the function to compress it. Because the final clip in .mov can not be bigger than 500 M.
I'm on a Mac and in my CS5 version of After Effects I don't have the FILE > EXPORT > QUICKTIME, I only have export to Flash or Premiere.
thanks

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Too BIG
by on Jul 12, 2011 at 6:43:02 pm

You don't want to export. You want to add your file to the render queue.

Here's a page [link] about the large file sizes and what to do.

From the question you're asking, it sounds like you really need to learn the basics of AE. Start here [link].

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Isabelle LindauerRe: Too BIG
by on Jul 12, 2011 at 7:02:29 pm

That's what I did to do this clip of 2 G, someone told me that I should go with Export to be smaller... So how can I do it smaller to run it on QuickTime? And a 1,5 G is readable with QT.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Too BIG
by on Jul 12, 2011 at 7:32:16 pm

Let's back up a little.

What do you have to DELIVER? What are your delivery specifications? What application will use your AE animation next?

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

by on Jul 12, 2011 at 8:09:49 pm

I have to deliver a clip of 4098 x 768 px, of 60 sec in .mov under 500M.