ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Dolly on a key

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ender WatersDolly on a key
by on Jul 11, 2011 at 10:03:43 pm

Hey all. I'm having a bit of an interesting time working on my first professional key.

The head of a small, brand spanking new 3D studio in north LA asked me if I could do some editing for them. Being a poor film student, I of course said yes.

"Editing" turned into "keying out the green screen and adding a background" to already edited footage. I'd never done a serious greenscreen, having mostly just mucked around with trying to pull a key in PS, but I told them I could do it.

And I can. But it's taking an awfully long time.

The screen is lit perfectly, which is nice. Keylight will pull an admirable key out of the green with little to no effort on my part. However, it's after this that the problems start. The camera is dollying back and forth constantly, meaning that to get a really good key I need to matte out the pink tracking tape on the wall. Which has proved to be painstaking, time consuming work. The tape constantly intersects with the subject's hands or body. I can't just key out the pink as well because the pink in the subject's skin gets trashed if I try. Roto'ing the matte is taking hours and hours, as I said. Is there an easier/faster way to do it?

Return to posts index

Steve BrameRe: Dolly on a key
by on Jul 11, 2011 at 11:40:25 pm

First, find out who's idea it was to use pink tape, and kill them.

Someone may have a bright idea on how to handle this, but I'll bet that roto'ing is gonna be the best.

Steve Brame
creative illusions Productions

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Dolly on a key
by on Jul 12, 2011 at 12:27:38 am

Steve's suggestion sounds good... but maybe you could also use Mocha Pro to track and remove the markers?

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live