ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Grading Red Footage in AE

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Daniel Schmidt
Grading Red Footage in AE
on Jul 3, 2011 at 1:59:18 pm

Hey,

I know that there is a lot of information on this out there, but I am a little overwhelmed by it (I have no experience with RED workflows at all, and have not used any of the RED-specific applications). For that reason I would greatly appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction on how to do what I need to do.

I was given ProRes files that someone somehow created from the original RED raw files. I used these ProRes files to do an offline edit in Final Cut Pro 6.0.6. Now, I have been told that I also need to do the grading and have been given the original RED files. I would like to grade in AE 5.0, but I have no idea on how to do this in terms of workflow. If there is no easy way to get the edit from FCP into AE, then I am prepared to recreate the edit in AE (which would take me about 1 day). But how would I handle the RED footage in AE? It seems to be possible to just throw the RED raw files into AE and use it like normal footage. But on the internet there are a lot of mentions of other software like "Redcine X" or "Monkey Extract", etc. I am not sure what these applications do. Do I need them to get an optimal result? Or is AE CS 5.0 + the original RED raw footage all I need?

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
Re: Grading Red Footage in AE
on Jul 5, 2011 at 3:33:22 pm

According to this page [link] Premiere CS5 handles Red footage. It explains how. From what I've heard from those using it, Premiere CS5 cuts through Red footage like butter and is amazing to work with. So, if you have access to it, I'd recreate the edit there. It'll be a lot faster than doing it in AE. And you may fall in love with it and never use FCP again.