ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

dumbfounded - render question

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
tom edwardsdumbfounded - render question
by on Jun 9, 2011 at 6:29:26 pm

i've been using AE 10 for about a month. i'm not a total newb to video production though -- just AE.
i have created a couple logos in AE for clients however -- so not a complete idiot.
i'm stumped on a render issue -- i'm trying to render a portion of a longer clip (the portion i'm using).
i brought a 00:01:34 clip into AE -- trimmed and set internal edit points so that i'm working with 8 seconds of it.
i need to motion track in mocha.
so... i queued up a render for a jpeg sequence but AE renders all 1:34 of the clip (leaving me with lots of black).
i tried to render it to another format figuring i missed something -- but no to what format i render, AE wants to render the entire clip -- not the selected portion.
i'm missing something -- but i'm struggling to find what exactly.

thoughts?
tks

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: dumbfounded - render question
by on Jun 9, 2011 at 6:43:55 pm

Here's an easy way to handle it:
  • Highlight the layer in the comp.
  • Hit the i (for In-point) key; the timeline cursor goes to the layer's in-point.
  • Hit the b (for Begin) key; you've set the beginning of the Work Area.
  • Hit the o (for Out-point) key; the timeline cursor goes to the layer's out-point.
  • Hit the n (for eNd) key; you've set the end of the Work Area.
  • Now go Composition>Trim Comp to Work Area.

Poof! You now a comp as long as the piece you want, and you can render with wild abandon.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

tom edwardsRe: dumbfounded - render question
by on Jun 9, 2011 at 6:56:42 pm

Dave,
thank God for Iowans!
Missed the B and N commands.
Much appreciated (and fast!).
Regards
Tom
(quad city boy)

Return to posts index