ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Having issues matching quality

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jake WhiteHaving issues matching quality
by on Jun 9, 2011 at 7:24:49 am

What I'm looking at.....

I am pretty new to After Effects and this is basically the situation.... I created a video with final cut pro and you can see the quality in the image below (It is in the quicktime window). Now I loaded that same video into AE CS5 and I am trying to add some effects to it, now for the majority of the video it is perfectly fine but when it comes to images like this stats slate the quality is far off.

Like I said I am pretty unfamiliar with this program and the rending. What I have been doing is adding my video to a render queue and have it set to the best settings that I can see. I did just notice those are different slates shown but you can still tell the quality is not the same, look at the text, unreadable.

I do not have any special codecs that I know of but here are the specs on the video:

Video from FCP:
Size: 720x480
Codec: H.264
Format: .MOV

Settings in AE which I have been trying:

Those are pretty much the default settings, here is the Comp settings this may also help point out what I am doing wrong....

And just incase here are the screen shots of my FCP sequence settings as well as the export settings....

Any thoughts?

Thank you in advance, I tried to cover most bases for questions you may have to assist this problem.

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: Having issues matching quality
by on Jun 9, 2011 at 11:54:58 am

You need to export from FCP using a better quality codec- ProRes will do. Bring that in AE, do your fx and then use Adobe Media Encoder to open the comp you need rendered and do the compression from there.