ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Advice: Hourly Rate

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrés RicardoAdvice: Hourly Rate
by on Jun 8, 2011 at 2:22:40 am

I need some advice. Please forgive me if this is not the correct forum to post this question, but:

I'm a recent grad and have a job interview lined up at a post-production facility in LA. The position requires me to do relatively simple work, including rotoscoping, motion tracking, sky replacement, rig removal, and beauty work; I'll be working primarily in After Effects, which I have about 4 years of experience with.

The company has asked me, pre-interview, what my hourly rate is (I would start as a freelance artist). They've seen my reel and résumé and have liked them enough to schedule an interview. My question is: what is a reasonable starting rate to ask for?

Thanks for the insight, and again, I apologize if this is not the correct forum (re-direction to a more appropriate forum would be equally appreciated!).

Return to posts index

Jonathan ZieglerRe: Advice: Hourly Rate
by on Jun 8, 2011 at 10:46:47 pm

Hmmm, tough one. Always.

Depends on how much you want to make, really. Are you a shoe-in or are you gonna have to compete with others? Are you feeling lean and hungry or do you have specific financial needs that need to be met?