ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Crisp text for broadcast in After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
rob kendall
Crisp text for broadcast in After Effects
on May 28, 2011 at 11:20:47 am

Hi there,
I'm quite new to After Effects, but am mainly using it to create text for broadcast. I recently noticed that even at full-res and the text layer set to Best quality, the text is a bit pixellated around the edges. This is made even more apparent when adding strokes and drop shadows etc.
Is this normal?? Is the text in After Effects not vector-based? Should I be bringing text in from Photoshop instead to avoid this problem??

Any help is great appreciated!!

Thanks.

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Re: Crisp text for broadcast in After Effects
on May 28, 2011 at 2:22:28 pm

What version of AE, what OS, how are you using the text and applying fx? Post a still so that we can see the pixelation and also a still of your setup (Timeline) would be helpful. Text in AE is sharp so I have no answers until I know more about your project.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

rob kendall
on May 28, 2011 at 6:39:53 pm

Thanks for your response. I'm using CS5 on 0SX 10.6.6 but can't post a still until next week. If text in AE is meant to be sharp then there's definitely something going on with my setup!

Thanks again

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
on May 28, 2011 at 8:40:56 pm

Are you just seeing this in the Composition panel or in final output?

If you're just seeing it in the Composition panel, are you viewing the composition zoomed in? Do you have Pixel Aspect Ratio Correction turned on?

What are your Viewer Quality preference settings?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
Technical Support for professional video software