ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Replaced Footage in After Effects Disappears

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lynne BrenimanReplaced Footage in After Effects Disappears
by on May 26, 2011 at 2:53:15 pm

This may be a silly question but I'm Final Cut Studio trained and I have no After Effects experience at all.

My after effects counterpart (who is on vacation) has already edited together a piece. All I need to do is replace a low res clip with a high res clip. I've tried doing the "replace clip" option but all I get after doing that is a blank line.

BEFORE

AFTER

Hopefully these photos uploaded correctly! I'm running on Mac OS X 10.6.7 with CS5.

Thanks for any advice!!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Replaced Footage in After Effects Disappears
by on May 26, 2011 at 3:17:34 pm

[Lynne Breniman] "All I need to do is replace a low res clip with a high res clip."

According to the comp, you replaced the "profiting from change" movie with the "roger smith" movie. Is this what you wanted to do?

I also see that the codec for the "roger smith" movie changed in the before and after screen shots.

If you have the original project file, i.e. you haven't saved the current project (in which case you can use the Revert command) or you worked on a duplicate project file, you can start over... and I would recommend it.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Lynne BrenimanRe: Replaced Footage in After Effects Disappears
by on May 26, 2011 at 3:28:09 pm

Yes... I'm already working on a duplicate project file and yes... I want to replace "profiting from change" with "roger smith." I want to keep the attributes associated with the "profiting for change" file (ie effects, transform, material options, etc...) and apply them to the "roger smith" file.

Thanks for the response!!

Return to posts index