ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Only Renders short part of movie

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sharon HartOnly Renders short part of movie
by on May 6, 2011 at 7:22:16 pm

I read through threads but didn't see a solution. I've been searching, reading, watching tutorials for days now with no solution.

I have a movie that is 10 min long, green screen and just put a layer image in back and one in front. I just want to render it. I've tried every change in settings. I render the format as quicktime, Quality Best, Resolution Full, everything is basically preset and seems correct ... with sound checked and frame rate 23.976

It renders like a short part of the movie very quickly. Here's where I think the problem is but I'm not sure how to fix it. In my main AE window on layers the layer with my movie is only showing from 0:00f to 22f - I'm new with AF but I assume this means frames? When I double click the layer (to see the full movie in the composition panel at middle top) the full movie can be played. In the timeline however the movie layer goes off to the right. I can't seem to get it to show the full length of the movie. Even if I change the zoom into frame slider at the bottom. Is there something I need to change to fit the full movie in the timeline? I've also tried Opt+Home to make sure the movie starts at the first frame. Is there maybe a limit to the length in AE? I know there's a limit on size but my movie is only 3mb.

Any suggestions are appreciated. I'm attaching a screenshot.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Only Renders short part of movie
by on May 6, 2011 at 7:58:16 pm

Sorry -- don't see a screen shot.

From your brief post, I discern two things. First, it sounds like you may have to re-set your Work Area:
http://help.adobe.com/en_US/aftereffects/cs/using/WS3878526689cb91655866c11...