FORUMS: list search recent posts

Downconverting with 1200A deck

COW Forums : Panasonic Cameras

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Todd Drezner
Downconverting with 1200A deck
on Jul 28, 2005 at 8:48:57 pm

I've searched some previous posts, but haven't been able to find a definitive answer to this question:

I am editing a program in Final Cut Pro HD on a dual 1.8 G5 with 1 GB RAM. We have material which was shot in DV and are now shooting new material with the Varicam(despite my arguing that this just complicates things).

We had been planning to rent the 1200A to downconvert the HD to DV for editing. What is not clear to me is whether we can do this over Firewire. I've seen conflicting answers on different forums.

If we can't downconvert with Firewire, would it be easier to send the HD tapes out to have them transferred to DVCAM? What would we need to make it work with the 1200A?

This is my first time with this workflow, so I appreciate any help. Thanks.

Todd

Return to posts index

Jeff Merritt
Re: Downconverting with 1200A deck
on Jul 29, 2005 at 1:58:59 am

Hi Todd,

If you get a chance, go to the Panasonic Web Site for the AJ-HD1200A and download the brochure for the VTR. On page three you will find a handy chart that lists all the different conversions possible with the option cards installed on the HD1200A such as the IEEE 1394 card. There you'll notice that no matter which HD format is recorded on tape, you can output 480i, standard definition. Just make sure your SD recorder is set up correctly to accept the SD over firewire. Check the manufacturer's specifications. Also be sure to set the correct output format on the HD1200A. Follow the menu specifications found in the user's manual.