MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

360 Panaromic Projection on to a cylinder for virtual set?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mike Stewart
360 Panaromic Projection on to a cylinder for virtual set?
on Mar 2, 2020 at 9:42:47 pm

Hi,

Forgive my lack of knowledge I am new to C4D and 3D in general.
I have a panoramic photo, stood in the middle of a field, it wraps round the full 360 degrees. I would like to project this on to the inside of a cylinder from the bottom and centre, giving me a ground plane and panoramic backdrop so that I can drop a camera in and look around in any direction.

My question is, how do I go about this? Will I need to create multiple projection cameras covering every direction? If so, how do I make sure the panoramic image lines up between projectors and there's no seams? How do I split up the image evenly between the cameras?

Thanks for your time and consideration.

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
Re: 360 Panaromic Projection on to a cylinder for virtual set?
on Mar 3, 2020 at 1:22:43 am

Create a cylinder with dimensions matching the resolution of your image, turn off caps, and apply a material to the cylinder with your panoramic image added as a texture in the material's Color channel (disable Reflectance or the image will look washed out). Set the Material Tag's Projection to "UVW Mapping," and set Side to "Both" or "Back" since the camera will be on the inside of the cylinder. And since the camera will be looking at the back of the image, enable Tile, and set the Length U to -100% to reverse the image so that it looks correct.

Add a camera, zero out its position coordinates to place it in the center of the cylinder, and adjust its Field of View (Vertical) to fill the render area vertically. You can then animate the camera's H rotation (Coordinates) to "pan" left and right as desired.

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
Reference images for previous post