MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Transitioning from one spline to another spline? (Cinema 4D R20 Educational License)

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rachel Wolther
Transitioning from one spline to another spline? (Cinema 4D R20 Educational License)
on Dec 2, 2019 at 5:41:29 pm

Hello everyone,
I'm a 3D student, and for a project, I'm working on an animation regarding proteins inside cells. It's a pretty big animation... 2120 frames.

I've scoured the internet for a couple of days to find a solution to my problem, but as it's pretty specific to my own project, I've had no luck. Ultimately I decided to get an account on this site and ask the world directly.

My problem is that of a transition. I have one object wrapped along a spline, and that object needs to transition into another spline. It's hard to explain without pictures, so here is a visual...

This is the shape (the tricolored cylinder) along the original spline:

The cylinder needs to transition to this spline smoothly:

These are two separate splines. Right now I just have the transition in the Spline Wrap deformer (changing the "Spline") but this creates a hard cut from one to the next (this was meant to be a placeholder).

Is there an easy way to do this with two splines, or will I just need to get rid of the second spline and animate the first into the new position?

Thank you!

Return to posts index

Sam Treadway
Re: Transitioning from one spline to another spline? (Cinema 4D R20 Educational License)
on Dec 3, 2019 at 5:38:08 pm

With two existing splines:
First make sure both splines have the same number of points and the point order is in the same relative direction.