MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

iMac + eGPU + Cinema 4D

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris Mathews
iMac + eGPU + Cinema 4D
on Dec 1, 2019 at 8:56:21 pm

Sorry if this has been answered before, but some research is bringing up conflicting answers.

I have been loving and using a Mac since 2004 and have no plans of switching to a PC, but I am curious if I could use a Mac with a eGPU and benefit from the speed and accuracy of a 3rd Party Renderer, like Redshift or Octane.

Is anyone successfully doing it?

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
Re: iMac + eGPU + Cinema 4D
on Dec 1, 2019 at 11:30:52 pm

Sorry, but I think you're out of luck. Both Redshift and Octane require a CUDA-enabled Nvidia GPU.

https://home.otoy.com/render/octane-render/faqs/

https://www.redshift3d.com/product/system-requirements

Return to posts index

Chris Mathews
on Dec 2, 2019 at 12:04:48 am

Thanks Jim. Could I just install an Nvidia GPU into a eGPU to accomplish this? Is the problem I can’t install CUDA on a Mac?

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
on Dec 2, 2019 at 12:32:46 am
Last Edited By Jim Scott on Dec 2, 2019 at 12:33:46 am

I'm not sure if this applies to your iMac, but in Octane's FAQ (#5 under Hardware and Software) they do talk about using a Thunderbolt controller with an external CUDA GPU (see screenshot below). CUDA drivers can certainly be installed on Macs (though there are no CUDA drivers available yet for Mojave), so your issue is going to be whether or not you can set up an external CUDA GPU. Contact support for whatever renderer(s) you're considering using and I'm sure they can give you the rundown.

Return to posts index

Chris Mathews
on Dec 2, 2019 at 1:19:16 am

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Sam Treadway
on Dec 2, 2019 at 2:14:47 am

Versions of Octane and Redshift are currently in development to support Apple Metal API.