MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Create Villi (Microbiome)

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Addie Kennamer
Create Villi (Microbiome)
on Nov 15, 2019 at 2:18:47 pm

Please help! I am new to cinema 4D and am trying to create microbiome with villi on the inside walls of a tube/cylinder! I’ve tried a cube with subdivision surface and cloning that but I’m having trouble getting the clones on the inside of my object and rotated the right way plus there’s too much of a lag to do any other work so I’m trying to go a different route. I’ve tried following along with a Maya tutorial but of course that’s a little confusing for me as well. I need to get this done today, any help would be greatly appreciated! I have posted below a picture of the look I’m trying to achieve and the Maya video I tried following! Thank you

https://scx1.b-cdn.net/csz/news/800/2018/gutmicrobiom.jpg

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
Re: Create Villi (Microbiome)
on Nov 15, 2019 at 5:18:12 pm

One quick method:
1) Apply hair to your cylinder
2) To place the hairs on the inside of the cylinder, make the cylinder editable (C) and reverse its normals (Mesh>Normals>Reverse Normals, or U - R)
3) In the Hair Object's "Guides" parameters click on "Regrow" to refresh the growth of the hairs on the reversed normals

Return to posts index

Addie Kennamer
on Nov 15, 2019 at 7:05:40 pm

Thank you Jim! However, when i add hair, they are super thin (even after messing with thickness, length, etc.) and are point all in the opposite direction that I would like. I would want them to face the inside of the tube/cylinder and then animate them to where they are "blowing" in the wind a little as the camera moves through the object (like the picture above). creating the "villi" look-a-like. I will continue to mess around with it to see if I can come up with something from the hairs though. Thank you!

Return to posts index

Jim Scott