MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Camera issue every 4th frame when rendering out using the compositing tag

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Keith Banger
Camera issue every 4th frame when rendering out using the compositing tag
on Mar 27, 2019 at 3:10:04 pm

I'm fairly new to C4D so bear with me...

My scene is a boat engine room on fire. I am using After Effects to composite in some smoke and fire into my scene using Trapcode Particular. There are some engine parts in the foreground that the smoke/fire moves behind as the camera moves, so therefore I need to composite these effects in-between and just on top.

What I have done is rendered out the full scene (with moving camera) as a png sequence. Then, using the compositing tag I have rendered out just the front half of the engine with an alpha channel (also as a png sequence), and placing that over top of my full sequence in AE, creating a top layer which I can then add the fire and smoke effects under. In theory it works perfectly and in previous attempts of this I didn't have the issue below.

My problem is that every 4th frame of the top sequence for some reason doesn't line up. Its like the aspect ratio or camera angle in C4D changes ever so slightly for just that frame, then back to perfect. I've included 3 pics (in sequence) to show what is happening.

The render settings are identical, same camera, all that. And I've re-rendered out each clip with same issues

Thanks for your time!

Return to posts index

Steve Bentley
Re: Camera issue every 4th frame when rendering out using the compositing tag
on Mar 27, 2019 at 10:46:44 pm

First check the camera that you are viewing the C4D scene through (the active camera with the white checkbox in the object manager). Its also good practice to turn off or delete cameras you won't be using so the wrong one doesn't get exported.