MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

IRR and Rendering to Picture Viewer is BLACK

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Blake McGuire
IRR and Rendering to Picture Viewer is BLACK
on Feb 2, 2019 at 12:55:51 am

For some reason when i want to preview my render in the interactive render region or render it to the picture viewer it just renders pure blackness. I don't understand as to why this is happening as i have Global illumination enabled, with an area light and HDRI. Sorry I'm a beginner in C4D so bare with me.

Here I'll link the project file: https://www.mediafire.com/file/a4hvz9cl7z4bges/UNKNOWN_3.c4d/file

By the way i'm using R20 on OSX 10.13.6

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
Re: IRR and Rendering to Picture Viewer is BLACK
on Feb 2, 2019 at 4:18:11 pm

the linked file has GI turned off (and no image to go with the file) and the only light is a spot light not an area light, it does render here but it takes a long while to prepare the displacement etc.

Return to posts index

Blake McGuire
on Feb 8, 2019 at 8:33:45 am

Sorry for not responding. It's been 5 days and I am still trying to render this. I have reduced as many polygons as i think is necessary, whilst still obtaining the quality to make the render seem a tad realistic.
I have been doing like 4 render attempts and all have gone above 20 hours and still the IR passes haven't finished calculating.

The reason as to why I have a only a point light is to give the illusion that the sun is casting a huge area of light, so therefore the GI brightens the rest of the scene but still makes the point light seperate a tiny bit from the rest of the scene if that makes sense.