MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Kind of a newbie question: trying to reduce a kitbashed model

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Steve Ra
Kind of a newbie question: trying to reduce a kitbashed model
on Dec 5, 2018 at 12:44:26 am

Hey all,
I am having some trouble reducing a heavy model I kitbashed. Around 500k polygons. I am attempting to use this in an animation. Hence, I would like to reduce it as much as possible without losing too much detail.

What do you suggest? Decimate? Bake it down (tried this but I think I did it improperly), or do I retopo it??

Any help will be much appreciated thanks!


Return to posts index

Harry Hoag
Re: Kind of a newbie question: trying to reduce a kitbashed model
on Dec 5, 2018 at 9:23:49 am

Can't you just use a proxy, lower poly model for animating with and then use the high detail one at render time?


Return to posts index

Steve Ra
Re: Kind of a newbie question: trying to reduce a kitbashed model
on Dec 5, 2018 at 9:30:39 pm

Hey,
thanks for response. I was thinking about doing that. I was just curious if there was a way to bring the current model down.


Return to posts index


Brian Jones
Re: Kind of a newbie question: trying to reduce a kitbashed model
on Dec 5, 2018 at 10:00:33 pm

depending on the version of C4D you have the Polygon Reduction Tool might be a way to go


Return to posts index

Harry Hoag
Re: Kind of a newbie question: trying to reduce a kitbashed model
on Dec 6, 2018 at 9:38:27 am

I wish there was some kind of smart poly reduction tool but I always find the automatic ones a bit useless for accurate work. Might have to be manually remodelled. Or maybe try zBrush or something more specialised like that? I don't use it so I'm not sure.


Return to posts index

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
© 2019 CreativeCOW.net All Rights Reserved
[TOP]